Mississippi Valley District Championship
Delta Sailing Association – Fleet 274
Memphis, Tennessee
June 10–11, 2017

Pos Sail# Skipper Crew Crew R1 R2 R3 R4 R5  R6  Total
1 15566 Terry Burke Bryan Burke Nick Beckmann 6 1 1 2 1 2 7
2 14191 Greg Florian Nick Florian Colin Florian 3 8 2 1 3 1 10
3 15308 Bill Killebrew Denis Colby Tim Naesek 1 7 3 3 4 4 15
4 15360 Clarke Newman Deanna Newman Jeff Sonsino 2 2 5 4 2 6 15
5 15387 Miia Newman Jess Oswalt Nick Watts 5 4 8 7 5 3 24
6 14488 William Baxter Jr. Richard Murff Richard Hall 8 3 7 5 7 5 27
7 14065 Carl Panetta Joshua Panetta Anthony Wright 4 6 4 8 8 7 29
8 14666 Crit Currie Woody Kickham Lief Asgeirsson 7 5 9 9 6 8 35
9 14000 Tom Gleeson Ellen Powell Erica Powell 10 9 6 6 9 10 40
10 14338 Lynn Jones Sarah Girdner Haskins Glass 9 11 10 10 10 9 48
11 15128 Max Shelton Phil Rodrigues Jacob Bauer 11 10 DNF DNS DNS DNS 57
12 15078 Bruce Richards (Did Not Compete)

Delta Sailing Association sailing on beautiful Arkabutla Lake was fortunate enough to host our 50th Hernando DeSoto Regatta this year and serve as the venue for the 2017 Mississippi Valley Lightning District Championship and as a stop on the Southwestern Lightning Circuit Regatta.  Weather conditions were ideal with temperatures in the mid-eighties, low humidity and a fine breeze from the south blowing 5 to 10.  Four races were held on Saturday and two Sunday morning.

This event was made a success by the efforts of the gracious work of DSA members who I wish to thank. Not to go on like Bette Midler at the Tony’s but these folks deserve recognition.  Lynn Jones ran registration and provided the trophies. Clair Hollanhan and Kathy Wright had lunch ready for us when we came in both days.  Bill Baxter made sure we had plenty of cold beverages and organized our catered Central Bar-B-Q dinner Saturday which alone made the regatta worth the trip.  Carl Panetta furnished coffee and doughnuts each morning.  Special appreciation goes out to Steve Koulogianes of our Thistle Fleet, Mike Lodes of our Hobie Fleet and Bruce Richards of Nashville Lightning Fleet 262 who worked on race committee.  Without their diligent work the race courses would not have been so well set in Arkabutla’s notoriously shifty conditions.

Along with MVD Lightnings we were happy to have Clarke Newman, Deanna Newman & Jeff Sonsino from Dallas race with us.  Miia Newman, Jess Oswalt & Nick Watts from New Orleans also came and enjoyed our hospitality. 

The eleven boats that participated in this event ran close races.  The first race Sunday morning had to be the most challenging for the crews.  The wind was Holy close to the first windward mark, that is as in great big holes of no wind with zephyrs teasing the sailors and the race committee contemplating a shortened course.  Gratefully the wind filled in and the race ran full length.
Bill Killebrew, Denis Colby & Tim Naesek of Fleet 262-Harbour Island YC took third place. Greg Florian, Nick Florian & Colin Florian of Fleet 74-Decatur YC finished second place.  Terry Burke, Bryan Burke & Nick Beckmann of Fleet 266-Carlisle Sailing Association are the 2017 Mississippi Valley District Champions and rightfully so they had an excellent series as the race results show.
Please come and join us this fall for the Cotton Pickin’ Regatta September 16 & 17.

Ya’ll come on down and race with us if you get the notion.

Tim Ryan
Commodore D.S.A.

                                                               Terry Burks