Skip to main content
Lightning Class Association

News / Articles

Final 2 Countries qualify for Pan American Games

Published on 1/11/2019

The last two country qualifying spots were decided at the 2018 South American Championships that were just held in Pucon, Chile January 3-6, 2019. Brazil and Colombia will round out the 8 countries who will compete in the 2019 Pan American Games.  

Argentina was first to qualified at the 2017 South American Championship held November 2017 in Salinas, Ecuador. Canada, Chile, Ecuador and the United States all qualified at the 2018 North American Championship held July 2018 in San Diego, CA USA. These teams will join host country Peru in the games to be held August 2019.

To date the following countries have concluded their trials and the following teams will be representing: 
ARG: Javier Conte, Ignacio Giamona, Paula Salerno
BRA: Claudio Biekarck, Gunner Flicker, Isable Flicker*
CHI: Felipe Robles, Andres Guevara, Paula Herman
ECU: Julio Velez, Eduardo Viteri, Irene Suarez
PER: Daniel Mendoza, Sergio Levaggi, Jimena Gavino
USA: Jody Starck, Ian Jones, Skip Dieball

*Note the 2018 SA Championship also served as the BRA Pan Am Selection Regatta. 

CAN and COL will all hold trials this spring before the June 1 reporting deadline. 

Sponsor Number URL address
Sponsor 1
Sponsor 2
Sponsor 3
Sponsor 4
Sponsor 5
Sponsor 6
Sponsor 7
Sponsor 8
Sponsor 9
Sponsor 10

Lightning Class Supporters